A shot of Tamworth Town Hall taken from a postcard postmarked 1930. The hall was originally built by Thomas Guy in 1701, at one time the town stocks used to be in front of it. The space beneath the Town Hall was used for a covered market where the townsfolk could buy butter, eggs and other local produce.In later years the town's fire engine was also stored there.The building has undergone many changes since it was first built. The cellars of the building were at one time used for holding prisoners.
The statue of Sir Robert Peel which now stands in front of the
Town Hall was put there in 1852.