Thomas Guy was born in London in 1644, he was the member of Parliament for Tamworth from 1695 to 1707 during which time he built a new Town Hall for Tamworth in 1701.Guy was also responsible for the building of the original Almshouses in Tamworth, but probably the most famous building he is remembered for is Guy's Hospital in London. His mother bought Thomas back to live in her native Tamworth after the death of his father when he was 8 years old. It is very thought very probable that he lived in the Manor House in Lichfield Street as a child. After an education at Tamworth Grammar School he returned to London at the age of 16 . A bookseller from 1668, dealing largely in Bibles, Guy ultimately amassed a fortune from printing and investments. In 1704 he became a director of St. Thomas's Hospital, Southwark, and he paid for the construction (1707) of three new wards. In the 1720s, finding St. Thomas's still overcrowded, he built Guy's Hospital across the street.