The Almshouses we
see today were built in 1913. Thomas Guy's original houses dated back to 1678 the
accommodation was for fourteen poor men or women who had no homes of their own.These homes
cost the sum of £200 when they were first constructed.There were gardens to the rear
where the occupants could grow some of their own food.
In 1707 when the local people did not re-elect him to Parliament Guy accused the townsfolk of being ungrateful to him. He never really forgave the people of Tamworth for this and later in his will he excluded the residents of the town from benefiting from his alms houses, only people from the outlying villages of Amington,Bolehall,Glascote,Hopwas,Wigginton and Wilnecote were eligible for them.